

Leviticus comes from Levi, the tribe which was set apart for God's service. It means the Levitical legislation—the law for the priests. Then in Deuteronomy, we have Moses' farewell address. There are three main addresses. The first recapitulated the history, the second and the third are a recapitulation of the law; it goes from Deuteronomy 5 to 26. This is not law for the priest, but law for the people. Moses goes through the law to stress what the people are to remember and to observe. Thus there are these three main types of the law in the Pentateuch.

I did not make a special section in the outline for the three main groups of law but it is very important. So I hope you will note it, as it is a matter with which we will deal repeatedly in this course.

## #2 The Five Books of Moses

In very early times the Israelites came to refer to these as the five parts of the Law. It is hard to say whether it was originally written as five distinct books. Certainly Genesis is a unit by itself, giving their history until they went to Egypt. Then, as you jump forward to Exodus, there is a big break in time. Genesis forms a a natural unit, and Deuteronomy does also. Deuteronomy is made up of Moses' farewell addresses and the account of his last days before going to his death. Like Genesis it forms a unit. But when you finish with Exodus, you go straight into Leviticus. Exodus tells how the tabernacle is made and set up. Leviticus goes on and tells what the priests are to do in it. It continues right straight on. We have no way to know whether a new book originally started there, though it has been divided into a separate book since very early times, Exodus and Leviticus, but it reads straight forward. We have no way of knowing whether there was originally a break. At any rate, we have it divided now into five books. We give Greek name to these five books in our English Bible. It is to bad he do not give them any list name, but we don't. we give them Greek normes be do not ----